Go Back   Rearm Yourself Community Forum > Main Category > Main Forum

Old 11-03-2014, 06:14 PM
Super Moderator

Default Two important articles from the September 2014 Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery

Each month I read the contents of the Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery, of which I am an Assistant Editor, and I always make special note of articles which may be particularly impactful on the care that I provide in the future, or which validate /support my current practice. I thought it would be valuable to routinely share my observations as part of the RearmYourself Forum. I plan on making such comments monthly.
The September 2014 issue included 2 articles that caught my attention. The 1st, entitiled “A preoperative scoring system to select patients for arthroscopic subacromial decompression” identified a scoring system that was useful in predicting which patients with shoulder pain consistent with “impingement” would do well after surgery. This is important because we are always very interested in trying to perfect our selection of patients for which we anticipate a good outcome after surgical intervention. The paper identified the following 6 variables that were associated with good outcome after a subacromial decompression:
1. Pain with overhead activities
2. Symptoms for more than 6 months
3. Persistent symptoms despite 3 months of supervised physical therapy
4. A Positive Hawkins test
5. X-ray changes of impingement on the humerus and acromion
6. Improvement for more than 1 week after a steroid injection